ALTER EGO PROJECT

What? I am on the news paper!

I just want to show you I don’t like to catch others’ attention or be famous like that.

Dressing up like a little girl walking in Los Angeles is the most embarrassing thing that happened in my life so far.

Even though people probably  wouldn’t recognize  me, I couldn’t forget the comments I received from them.

I really wanted to explain to everybody, I was doing a project called ALTER EGO.

But I didn’t, I knew no matter how hard I try to explain, people already  thought I looked funny and they might thought that was the real me.

SO PAINFUL…

My video about everything of this project:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1JSnZEXMjE4

– HOW DID YOU FEEL ABOUT YOUR NEW LOOK?

I didn’t even want to look at myself once I put on my make-up and dress. I looked so funny in that outfit! I just hoped there was a hole next to me, so I could jump in it. I felt my mind and my body were not belong to me when I walked out like that. I felt I had become another person. I don’t like to be dressed up pink, it just looks too silly for me.

– WHAT WERE THE REACTIONS YOU RECEIVED FROM PEOPLE?

Basically, Non-Asian seemed to like the way I dressed. Some even said I looked sexy in my outfit. While they treated me nicely and told me I looked pretty and beautiful, Asian guys didn’t really care my look or didn’t really pay attention to me. I guess it is because they were trying to polite to me or it is normal for a girl to dress up like that, especially in most of the Asian countries. Most middle-age men just looked at me with smiling. I found that most young ladies didn’t really like my look. I guess it may be I looked  prettier than them. So they got jealous of me.  Most middle age or old ladies just friendly smiled to me, but some looked at me like I was come from another planet. They looked so shocked. And some little girls thought I was princess while some said I looked weird behind me.

– WHAT WERE THE WORST REACTIONS YOU RECEIVED?

The worst one was there was a young guy said, “HAPPY HALLOWEEN” to me on black friday!  I was about to cry at that moment.

– HOW DID YOUR FRIENDS THINK ABOUT YOUR NEW LOOK?

Some didn’t even recognize me at all. Some said I should wear those clothes more often, it made me look youthful.

-HOW DO YOU LOOK AT LOLITA FASHION?

Even though the style could easily be confused with a sexual fetish, due to its namesake the novel ‘Lolita’, the lolita subculture emphasises youthfulness, as well as drawing from the Japanese ‘cute’ aesthetic so is not considered overtly sexual for me. In contrast, Lolita fashion is attractive and unique. I think it allows women to dress up for themselves rather than for the attention of other people, especially the attention of men. So Lolita fashion represents a kind of self-satisfaction for its followers.

I also think that Lolita fashion is not just the way how people dress, it is the way how people act and it reflects a kind of lifestyle. Actually, I believe any kind of fashion reflect some sort of particular lifestyle. For example, you might never expect a gothic girl shops in the Holle Kitty store. As I know, Lolita girls tend to live like a princess, surrounding themselves with things of beauty  and taking part in a number of  ‘proper’ feminine activities, such as embroidery, sewing and other old-fashioned women’s activities. Furthermore, it reflects a kind of attitude, the naive attitude. Lolita girls carry  their cute toys and sweet smiles wherever they go and enjoy living in their lovely princess lives.

– WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT THIS EXPERIENCE?

I concluded my experience in a formula:

30% FUN + 20% COMPLICATED FEELINGS +50%PAINFUL= MY ELTER EGO

– HOW DO YOU LOOK AT FASHION AND SOCIAL ASPECT?

Fashion is the ability to share your personality with the world without saying a word.

– ARE YOU WILLING TO DRESS UP LIKE THAT IN YOUR FUTURE?

I am willing to dress up pretty but not the pastel pink, no more! Maybe I will wear those clothes only in Halloween. Actually, I may dress as gothic lolita since it is more match with my personality not just because the dark colors but its respect of death as I like Count Dracula more than Holle kitty/ Barbie Dolls!

Leave a Reply

